常见问题

什么是 FLS?
FLS 计划是一个全面的, 基于网络的教育模块和评估工具,旨在教授基础知识, 基本腹腔镜手术所需的判断力和技术能力. 这些基础知识的学习和应用将有助于确保为所有接受腹腔镜手术的患者提供最低标准的护理. FLS 包括认知学习, 动手能力培训, 和一个监考考试,让外科医生和外科医生有机会评估和记录他们的技能.

我从 FLS 课程中学到了什么?
FLS 包括教学内容的多媒体演示和“观看 & 做”练习,侧重于手工技能训练. 内容以基于网络的格式提供,可在线访问.

什么是 FLS 考试?
考试包括两个评估: 一种基于计算机的, 多项选择评估和基于绩效的, 手动技能评估,包括在 FLS Trainer Box 上执行的五项技能任务. 成功完成这两项评估的人将展示知识, 判断, 和基本腹腔镜手术的基本技术技能.

什么是 FLS 教练箱?
FLS Trainer Box 是一种设备,供住院医师和执业医师发展基本腹腔镜手术期间所需的精神运动技能和灵巧性. 它是一种便携式装置,包括一组用于模拟特定手术技术的附件. 请访问 www.fls-products.com 购买.

我必须购买 FLS 教练箱吗? 不 – 可以使用不同的训练箱或模拟器来练习 FLS 任务. 然而, 因为 FLS 考试是标准化的, 高难度考试, FLS 手动技能测试必须在 FLS 官方培训箱上进行. 请拜访 www.fls-products.com 购买.

什么是测试券?
考试券是参加 FLS 考试所需的“准考证”. 每张代金券都有唯一的识别码,只能兑换一次. 所有测试券, 包括复试券, 右上角印有有效期, 并且必须在此日期之前完成测试. 初始测试必须在 12 代金券购买月份. 如果 FLS 测试未成功通过, 可以以较低的价格购买“重新测试”代金券 18 原考试日期的几个月.

FLS 手动技能考试涵盖的内容?
手动技能评估包括五个模拟练习,反映了腹腔镜手术所需的独特技能, 比如二元性, 深度知觉, 手眼协调, 和受控的器械运动和运动效率. 任务表现在效率上得分 (时间) 和精度 (准确性).

什么是书面评估?
书面评估由多项选择题组成, 其中一些包括视觉和临床场景. 它是基于计算机的,旨在测试对腹腔镜检查基本原理的理解和应用,并尽可能强调临床判断或术中决策.

谁有资格参加 FLS 考试?
任何人都有资格查看课程, 但 FLS 认证仅限于医疗居民, 研究员, 和执业的普通外科医生, 妇科医生, 泌尿科医生, 外科肿瘤学家, 和其他医生.

为什么我需要 FLS 计划?
许多在腹腔镜革命到来期间已经在实践中的外科医生学习了仍在进行中的基本信息和技能. FLS 将有助于刷新这些认知和技术技能,并为您提供一种记录这些技能的方法.

完成 FLS 考试需要多长时间?
你将会有 90 分钟完成考试的多项选择部分. 手动技能评估包括在 FLS 培训师箱中管理的五项指定技能,持续时间约为 30-45 分钟. 两者均由训练有素的 FLS 监考人员管理.

我什么时候能收到我的 FLS 考试成绩?
成绩报告将在考试日期后大约三周通过电子邮件发送. 出于隐私原因, 分数不会通过电话传送. 那些成功完成教育和评估部分的人还将获得完成证书,确认他们已经证明了他们的知识, 判断, 和基本腹腔镜手术的基本技术技能.

我在哪里可以参加 FLS 考试?
您可以在 FLS 考试中心参加考试, 从您自己的机构远程, 或在 SAGES 年会等特殊测试活动中. 访问 www.flsprogram.org 查看 FLS 测试中心列表.

我的证书是否过期?
有效的 10/1/2012 FLS 不再颁发无限期有效的证书; 反而, 所有证书都有日期, 并且每个人都必须重新认证 10 年成功完成整个测试 (书面和技能部分) 如果他们想保持认证. 对于颁发的证书 10/1/2012 或以后, 重新认证要求不迟于原始证书颁发日期起十年, 但最早可在原始证书颁发之日起七年内寻求重新认证.

“祖父” – 对于在之前颁发的证书 10/1/2012, 重新认证必须由 10/1/2022 无论原始证书颁发日期如何. 个人最早可以在原始证书颁发之日起七年内启动重新认证过程.

对于那些寻求重新认证的人和第一次参加考试的人来说,考试安排和考试管理程序是一样的. 两个测试组件都必须完成并通过. 通过考试的个人将获得新的证书, 有新的生效日期.

如何购买 FLS 计划?
通过访问下载订购表 www.flsprogram.org 或致电 SAGES 办公室 310.437.0544, 分机. 137, 并要求通过电子邮件发送给您. 填写订单并通过支票或信用卡付款退回.

+

FAQs

What is FLS?
The FLS program is a comprehensive, web-based educational module and assessment tool designed to teach the fundamental knowledge, judgment and technical skills required in basic laparoscopic surgery. The learning and application of these fundamentals will help ensure a minimum standard of care for all patients undergoing laparoscopic surgery. FLS consists of cognitive learning, hands-on skills training, and a proctored exam that gives surgeons and surgeons-in-training the opportunity to assess and document their skills.

What do I learn from the FLS curriculum?
FLS includes a multimedia presentation of didactic content and “watch & do” exercises that focuses on manual skills training. The content is available in a web-based format accessed online.

What is the FLS Exam?
The exam includes two assessments: a computer-based, multiple-choice assessment and a performance-based, manual skills assessment consisting of five skills tasks performed on the FLS Trainer Box. Those who successfully complete both assessments will have demonstrated the knowledge, judgment, and technical skills fundamental to the performance of basic laparoscopic surgery.

What is the FLS Trainer Box?
The FLS Trainer Box is a device for residents and practicing physicians to develop psychomotor skills and dexterity required during the performance of basic laparoscopic surgery. It is a portable unit that includes a set of accessories used to simulate specific surgical techniques. Please visit www.fls-products.com to purchase.

Do I have to buy the FLS Trainer Box? No – a different trainer box or simulator may be used to practice the FLS tasks. However, because the FLS Exam is a standardized, high-stakes exam, the FLS manual skills test must be taken on an official FLS Trainer Box. Please visit www.fls-products.com to purchase.

What is a testing voucher?
A testing voucher is the “admittance ticket” needed in order to take the FLS exam. Each voucher has a unique identification number and can be redeemed one time only. All test vouchers, including retest vouchers, have an expiration date printed on the upper right-hand corner, and tests must be completed by this date. The initial test must be completed within 12 months of the voucher purchase. If the FLS test is not successfully passed, a “re-test” voucher may be purchased at a lesser price within 18 months of the original exam date.

What is covered in the FLS manual skills exam?
The manual skills assessment consists of five simulation exercises reflecting skills uniquely required in laparoscopic surgery, such as ambidexterity, depth perception, hand/eye coordination, and controlled movement of instruments and efficiency of movement. The task performance is scored on both efficiency (time) and precision (accuracy).

What is the written assessment?
The written assessment consists of multiple-choice questions, some of which include visuals and clinical scenarios. It is computer based and designed to test the understanding and application of the basic fundamentals of laparoscopy with as much emphasis as possible on clinical judgment or intraoperative decision making.

Who is eligible to take the FLS Exam?
Anyone is eligible to review the curriculum, but FLS certification is limited to medical residents, fellows, and practicing general surgeons, gynecologists, urologists, surgical oncologists, and other physicians.

Why would I need the FLS Program?
Many surgeons who were already in practice during the advent of the laparoscopic revolution learned basic information and skills that were still a work in progress. FLS will help to refresh those cognitive and technical skills and provide you with a way to document those skills.

How much time will it take to complete the FLS Exam?
You will have 90 minutes to complete the multiple-choice portion of the exam. The manual skills assessment includes the five designated skills administered on the FLS Trainer Box and lasts approximately 30-45 minutes. Both are administered by a trained FLS proctor.

When will I receive my FLS exam scores?
Score reports will be emailed approximately three weeks after the testing date. For privacy reasons, scores will not be transmitted by telephone. Those who successfully complete both the educational and assessment components will also receive a certification of completion confirming that they have demonstrated the knowledge, judgment, and technical skills fundamental to the performance of basic laparoscopic surgery.

Where can I take the FLS exam?
You can take the exam at an FLS Test Center, remotely from your own institution, or at a special testing event such as the SAGES Annual Meeting. Visit www.flsprogram.org to see a list of FLS Test Centers.

Does my certificate expire?
Effective 10/1/2012 FLS no longer issues certificates that are valid indefinitely; instead, all certificates are dated, and individuals must be recertified every 10 years by successful completion of the entire test (both written and skills components) if they want to maintain certification. For certificates issued on 10/1/2012 or later, recertification is required no later than ten years from the original certificate issue date, but recertification may be sought as early as seven years from the original certificate issue date.

“Grandfathering” – For certificates issued prior to 10/1/2012, recertification must be completed by 10/1/2022 regardless of the original certificate issue date. Individuals may initiate the recertification process as early as seven years from the original certificate issue date.

Testing scheduling and test administration procedure is the same for those seeking recertification as those taking the exam the very first time. Both test components must be completed and passed. Individuals who pass the exam will be issued a new certificate, with a new effective date.

How do I purchase the FLS Program?
Download an order form by visiting www.flsprogram.org or call the SAGES office at 310.437.0544, ext. 137, and ask for one to be e-mailed to you. Complete the order form and return it with payment by check or credit card.

+